What Are The Two Major Drug Categories?

The main categories are:

  • stimulants (e.g. cocaine)
  • depressants (e.g. alcohol)
  • opium-related painkillers (e.g. heroin)
  • hallucinogens (e.g. LSD)

What are the two types of drug abuse?

Some of the most common types of drug abuse include the following:

  1. Stimulant Abuse. Stimulants are substances that cause physical and psychological functions to speed up.
  2. Cocaine Abuse.
  3. Adderall Abuse.
  4. Meth Abuse.
  5. Opioid Abuse.
  6. Heroin Abuse.
  7. Prescription Painkillers.
  8. Sedative Abuse.

What are the different categories of drugs?

Categories include stimulants, depressants, hallucinogens, dissociatives, opioids, inhalants and cannabis.

There are seven different drug types, and each has its own set of effects and risks:

  • Stimulants.
  • Depressants.
  • Hallucinogens.
  • Dissociatives.
  • Opioids.
  • Inhalants.
  • Cannabis.

Why are drugs classified in the categories they are?

Drug classifications are a way to organize drugs into categories. There are many reasons to do this. Classifying drugs by chemical similarities is useful because drugs that are chemically similar often have similar impacts and risks.

What are the three broad categories of drugs?

Hallucinogens can be divided into three broad categories: psychedelics, dissociatives, and deliriants. They can cause subjective changes in perception, thought, emotion and consciousness.