Question: What Are The 5 Drug Classifications?

Some common classifications include:

  • Depressants.
  • Hallucinogens.
  • Inhalants.
  • Narcotics.
  • Steroids.
  • Stimulants.

What are the 5 types of controlled substances?

The five classes of drugs are narcotics, depressants, stimulants, hallucinogens, and anabolic steroids. The schedule the drug is placed under depends on its medical use, its potential for abuse, and its safety or how easily people become dependent on it.

What are the categories of drugs?

Drugs are classified chemically according to how they affect the brain and the body. Common classifications include stimulants, depressants, hallucinogens, and opioids.

The different drug types include the following:

  1. Depressants.
  2. Stimulants.
  3. Hallucinogens.
  4. Opioids.
  5. Inhalants.
  6. Cannabis.
  7. New psychoactive substances (NPS).

What are the 4 types of drugs?

What types of drugs are there?

  • stimulants (e.g. cocaine)
  • depressants (e.g. alcohol)
  • opium-related painkillers (e.g. heroin)
  • hallucinogens (e.g. LSD)

What are the main drug classification systems?

The structure has 5 levels; the first one allows active substances to be classified into 14 main groups, which in turn are divided into pharmacological/therapeutic subgroups (2nd level). The 3rd and 4th levels are chemical/pharmacological/therapeutic and the 5th is the chemical substance.

What is a Class 4 drug?

Schedule IV

Schedule IV drugs, substances, or chemicals are defined as drugs with a low potential for abuse and low risk of dependence. Some examples of Schedule IV drugs are: Xanax, Soma, Darvon, Darvocet, Valium, Ativan, Talwin, Ambien, Tramadol.

What drug is a controlled substance?

Some examples of drugs that are on each schedule are: Schedule 1: Marijuana, Heroin, LSD, and Ecstasy. Schedule 2: Cocaine, Morphine, Oxycodone, Adderall, Ritalin, and Vicodin. Schedule 3: Tylenol with codeine, anabolic steroids, and testosterone.